Muscle Memory

In its simplest form, the folks at Wikipedia define muscle memory as follows: “a type of memory acquired and used subconsciously that can affect one’s thoughts and behaviors by enabling them to perform certain tasks without conscious awareness of previous experiences.” Some examples are tying your shoes or riding a bike.

Well, in the two-and-a-half years since I’ve been blessed to return to my native Harlem, humbly, I’ve been able to benefit from this form of learning in pursuit of my aspirations.

It was here in Harlem that I learned to be resourceful.

It was here in Harlem where I learned to excel.

It was here in Harlem where I learned the importance and role of discipline.

It was here in Harlem where I learned to study.

And it was here in Harlem where I learned to compete.

And about six months shy of leaving 30 years ago, this place and those behaviors are very much a part of me as I strive to make my mark as an actor, print model, and voice over artist.

Even if I have to muscle my way.

Who says you can’t go home?

6 Comments

  1. gshu604 says:

    Great Read my Brother. There’s no place like Home. #Harlem

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Roy Shuler says:

      Glory to God. Thanks, brother. I agree: there’s no place like home 👏🏾.

      Like

    2. Michael Simmons says:

      Absolutely a great and inspirational read.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Roy Shuler says:

        Glory to God. Thanks and great to hear from you, Mike. Pray you and your family are well.

        Like

  2. Lynette Joyce McQueen says:

    Great 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Roy Shuler says:

      Thank you 😊!

      Like

Leave a Comment